Happy Days

One year ago yesterday I booked my trip to South East Asia. Today it is Diwali. Tomorrow it is New Years Day (Bestu Varas). Tomorrow is also Halloween and as many of you know, that means it is my birthday. It is the first time I’ve ever experienced any of these things without seeing my family… or you know, like, be in the same country as them.

If there as ever going to be a period of time that I was going to feel homesick, it would be now because there is so much family-related stuff going on, and I’m not physically a part of it. Don’t worry. In actual fact, I feel great. Of course I miss everyone at home, and nothing compares to a hug from your mum, but I’m thankful that I have a job and a really lovely place to live. I have a wonderful group of friends both at work and outside. I get to talk to my parents every weekend and have a huge amount of well wishers on Facebook and WhatsApp and all manner of other methods of communication, so I feel as if I was at home just like any other year.

img_2934A friend of mine came over for the afternoon, we made a wicked cheesecake and had some lunch; we watched Doctor Who on Netflix and talked about the geeky things that we like, but have no one else to talk about them to! He brought candles and it made me feel happy when there was one sitting by the sink (there is a reason behind that, just don’t ask me what it is…!).

For those of you who have been following my exploits from the very beginning, I understand that right now, I’m not really giving you much excitement. I mean, compared to making my own jewellery, or archery or ziplining across the Mekong, right now, there isn’t that much going on. I’m keeping my head down, trying to make some decent cash and the weather hasn’t been all that great and therefore I’m spending more time indoors. As the sun sticks around for that bit longer each day (seasons are backwards here in Aus, as I’ve had to remind a few people recently! We’re moving into summer whilst the Northern Hemisphere is moving into winter), the rainclouds have started to clear away a little, I’ll start getting out a bit more and show you what this beautiful city has to offer. They say Melbourne is the most liveable city in the world, and I’m still getting to know it. As I discover more about it, I’ll let you know. For now, Happy Diwali. And check out my TV.

img_2932

Author:

Just an average British girl travelling the world with a little minion.

One thought on “Happy Days

Leave a Reply

