Cook, Eat, Repeat

I like cooking. I like eating. But I’ve never been one for taking a boatload of photos of my food, so sometimes I kind of forget to take a picture before I start chomping down on my meal. I’ve been meaning to write a post about food for some time now, but I wanted to wait until I had enough awesome foodie pics. I think I’ve done pretty well here, and I haven’t done any editing either. What is it that the kids say these days? #nofilter (I think that’s a thing… right?) These are a lovely collection of dishes I’ve had the pleasure of munching on in the 3 months I’ve been kicking around Aus. Apologies if you’ve seen some of these before on Facebook, or on postcards I’ve sent or whatever, I just kind of wanted them all in one place!

Okay, let’s start with the most hipster breakfast I’ve ever eaten. I was really sceptical about going to this place at all, but a friend of mine had been craving the banana chocolate porridge they do, so I went along to this glass-fronted pretentious place and I’m so glad I did. Freshly squeezed orange juice and a weird breakfast medley of fruits like watermelon, passionfruit, grapes, there were little light meringue morsels and fruit coulis, there was a mousse thing going on that had the most incredible texture, and there were flowers on the plate. And I ate EVERYTHING on this plate. The flowers were kind of sweet. The only other word I can think of to use to describe the taste is “green”. As in, raw baby spinach or if you could taste a Spring day, you know… ‘cos everyone knows what Spring tastes like [!?]. I’ve never been back to this place, because it was a little on the steep side, but as I said, I’m so happy that I got dragged along to this place. img_2758

Next up. A South Indian classic – masala dosa. I went to this vegetarian place in Elsternwick whilst I was living in a very sketchy neighbourhood in my first couple of weeks in Melbourne. I was very much in the mindset where I wanted something that made me feel warm and happy and for anyone who has ever had masala dosa before, it’s a kind of carb-heavy meal. It’s a giant thin crispy pancake made from rice flour, stuffed full of a lightly fried potato curry. On the side, you get a delicious spicy tangy dhal soup with some veggies in it, and the general idea is you dip the pancake in the hot soup and eat it together. It can get a little messy, but I was in my element. Plus, this place did proper Indian chai. Around three months ago, I hadn’t had a proper cup of Indian tea for all the time I’d been out travelling. It was uber-sweet and very milky, but I was not complaining. And it did make me feel all warm and bubbly inside! And it was served in a bright yellow cup and saucer.  img_2789

Okay, there was always going to be at least one burger in this list. I’m thinking I might actually have to do a post solely about burgers. But I’m going to wait until I’ve seen a little bit more of this country and experienced more than one city’s attempt at a burger. In the meantime, check this bad boy out. It was absolute chaos to eat, but so worth it. And technically, not quite a burger. Selling itself as a pulled pork roll, topped with a healthy slaw which had apple, walnut and fennel running through it, plus cheese, it was a real find at one of those little eateries in one of those little laneways in the centre of Melbourne. What’s more, I looked this place up online, and their promo picture of this particular dish looked exactly like my picture below. Impressive, right?img_2820

So, not to be all patronising and condescending and all, but Australia isn’t too far from South East Asia, right? This means there are a lot of Asian people around. This means that there is some seriously decent food around. The very nature of Asian street food is that it’s quick and easy, so every single food court that I’ve been to since I came down under has at the very least: Japanese sushi, Vietnamese pho, Thai everything, and then the usuals: Subway, something Mexican, Maccy D’s or KFC. Whilst these meals might not be anything to look at, specifically, I wanted to show that the quality and variety of street food in the UK is a bit rubbish. Well, it is in the town I grew up in. I’d never even come across edamame until just the other day. And I thought I was quite adventurous when it comes to cuisines of the world.

img_2941

Last of all, I’ve been doing a lot of cooking at home in recent times. There are a couple of reasons for this, number one being cost. Number two is that I have a wonderfully stocked kitchen. Not even with the foodstuffs (though the presence of whole coriander seeds and turmeric is very much welcome), but more like the fact I have access to multiple frying pans, a cheese grater and blender, you know… normal kitchen stuff. The thing is, when I cook at home, I forget to get Thierry out of his little pouch and neglect to take any pictures at all. So, I made a chicken curry the other day and not to blow my own trumpet but it was pretty good. I’d go so far as to say my granddad would have quite happily chowed down on it with no complaints and one for seconds (which is the highest praise ever, from either grandad!). Thing is, I didn’t take pictures. So yeah. Sorry! The only thing I’ve made at home and taken photos of is that incredible cheesecake, that I’ve just about finished now (I was keeping it in the freezer), so here you go. Have another picture of that for dessert. img_2933

Author:

Just an average British girl travelling the world with a little minion.

Leave a Reply

